What’s in store for 2013: Kickstarter

Happy New Year!  I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays. I know I appreciated the break…

For the sake of brevity, I’ll cut right to the chase.  When we left off last year, I said I might have an important announcement to make.  Well, it should be no surprise that I’m committed to making this album as good as possible. But doing that requires considerable capital investment which I, unfortunately, do not have.

Therefore, I’ve decided that we’re going to launch a Kickstarter campaign to raise money for the production of the album!

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Kickstarter, it’s a way to publicly raise money for a project (read more.) Money pledged is like a donation, but in return we’ll offer the final CD, or a tshirt, or a poster, etc., as compensation.  The idea is that the project only happens once there is enough funding.

This means that if we need $10K to make this happen and we only raise $9,999, then we ultimately receive $0 and everyone gets their money back.  Everyone will also be sad.

It’s a bold strategy, but I really want to send as many of our musicians to the studio as possible.  Mixing and mastering is also very expensive, but critical if we’re going to make this sound good.

I have to iron out the finer details, but look for the Kickstarter to start on February 28th: exactly one year after the launch of the blog.  Then one year after that (if successful) we’ll release the finished album!

The only way this will work, however, is if you people spread the word to other folks who might be crazy enough to enjoy blackgrass!

Please mark your calendars, and tell your friends!

3 thoughts on “What’s in store for 2013: Kickstarter

  1. Good luck with the Kickstarter!! I’ll be happy to toss you what I can. I have a couple friends who were successful with Kickstarter (goal was ~8k) and they all accreditited good perks and constantly informing and interacting backers as to whats going on and what not as a key to its success. Since you are already very involved with those interested in the project with the blog, you’re already one step ahead.

Leave a Reply

