Draft of Track 5

Before now, track 5 was the only draft that we’ve been missing.  The title clearly tells you that this is no longer the case.

You may not be aware of this, but Jake is also pretty deadly on the keys.  We talked about bringing piano in for the instrumental track 5, and he said he’d work on a composition.

I, however, was in no way prepared for what I just received!

I expected a 1-2 minute piece to break up tracks 4 and 6, but what I got instead was 7.5 minute composition fit for a movie score!  Press play below, and we’ll continue the discussion…

The synth strings can be a bit overbearing at times, but by now you should be accustomed to understanding what “first draft” means.

I love the soundcloud display, because you can clearly see that the song has very distinct movements.  My favorite movement begins at about 2:50.  (And Jake reminds us that he is, in fact, human at about 4:44.)

At 5:06, Jake plays the progression that I wrote for the ending of track 9.  I like the thematic use of it…

Also, the ending rhythm is intended to lead right into track 6 (Jake matched the tempos specifically for that purpose.)

Overall, Jake put a ton of work making this piece, and tied themes of Abram’s transformation into the composition.  It’s really amazing that he did this so quickly.

Will we use it all?  I’m not sure… Such a long instrumental really breaks up the flow of the album, so I’m hesitant to put it in there as is.  Jake and I will discuss, and see what we come up with.

Leave a Reply

