Connecting the Dots with Track 10

We had a beginning and an end, but nothing in between.  I spent some serious time on this over the past couple of weeks (and may have borrowed some old material I wrote years ago) and finally completed what I think is a good first draft of the full Track 10!

Instead of using soundcloud, I decided to film myself this time.  The sound is a little out of sync, but hopefully that doesn’t bother you as much as it bothers me

The previous parts of the song are before 2:09 and after 5:51 in this video.  I didn’t predict that I’d add almost 4 minutes, but it seemed necessary!  I needed to bring in some slower and darker chord progressions, and I think I did just that.

How close am I to black metal?  Well… I think the influences are there, but this song probably spans across 3 or 4 metal genres.  Anyone want to take a shot at which ones?

6 thoughts on “Connecting the Dots with Track 10

  1. onefittwofit says:

    yeah, really liking 2:30 to 3:30 especially. And then more fun times at 5:15.

    So around 6:20, are you transitioning there to more bluegrassy stuff, or keeping it more quiet rock ballad material? I could definitely imagine some sad fiddles over that.

    Nice face at the end. 😉

  2. 2:09 – 3:10 are killer. And again at ~4:10. The guitar tone is quite black metal with all that treble in there.

    Those couple of bars you play at 4:54 are killer, I’d love to hear you dig some more out of that riff. And the riff at 6:10 is legit.

    Sounding good duder.

    • blood and banjos says:

      thanks man! i’m glad i was able to hit a blacker sound… it was evading me on the other tracks quite a bit

  3. i like the chord progression that starts at 4:05 and the breakdownness that ensues at 5:00. good stuff. and whatever happens at 6:00 to 6:08 that makes those notes sound muted.
    i also like the goofy ass look on your face at 0:41, at the end, and, well, throughout.

  4. isounddesign says:

    I’ve got guitar like this long time ago.

Leave a Reply

