Wowzers…

Jake just delivered some drums, and let me tell you, the difference that they make is amazing.

The beauty of it is that he produced exactly what I wanted. The intensity during the metal part was seriously lacking before, but the drums were executed perfectly. I also recorded another guitar track to liven it up. Listen to the comparison below, it’s a world of difference.

(Make note of Jake’s bass kick pattern in the second part of the climax… you might recognize it later on in the song.)

A few people have commented on this song, saying how disjointed it is. The transitions between “bluegrass” and “black metal” were a bit too sudden. I had to agree with them, but I think the drums definitely smooth it over a bit now.  I’m counting on you guys to let me know if this is an improvement or not!

Ok, here it is, the second full draft with Jake’s drums.

This is still very much a rough draft; we need some banjo and mandolin, and perhaps some actual singers.  But hey, I think this is coming along quite nicely.  Give me some honest feedback though, before I get too proud.

For reference, here are the lyrics again (Purple is the town courier, green is the town leader, black is the townspeople.)

I just seen something I would like to forget
And that means a lot from me you’ve gotta admit
Now I was walking near the West Bluff to deliver the post
And, oh help us father son and holy ghost

ABRAM STONE!!!

What has he done with his poor family now?
His wife and kids lay dead and bloodied the ground
He was a-digging two new holes in the earth
And I can tell you neither one was for her

His axe her body cleft!
In his well, you’ll find what’s left
!

Grave indeed, these tidings that you bare
Swift we must be in making sure this debt is paid!

If what you’re telling us is the honest truth
Then it’s quite clear to me what we’ve got to do now
Assemble all ye men who claim to strive for what’s right
We’re gonna have ourselves a lynching tonight!

FETCH YOUR ROPE!!!

**TIE HIM UP**
MAKE HIM PAY FOR HIS SINS

**HOIST HIM HIGH**
MAKE HIM SEE WHAT HE’S DONE

**LET HIM HANG**
WE THIRST FOR JUSTICE NOW

**ABRAM STONE**
WE’RE COMING TO BURN YOU OUT

2 thoughts on “Wowzers…

  1. Drums=win! I still thing that the first transition could use some tightening up, but live drums really do help.

    Songwriting wise, this track rocks. Memorable, catchy, with some smoothing over it will be quite fluent.

    Criticisms: (all from the full track) I really like your clean vocals on the first refrain, but they lose a lot of power after the first BM scream (mainly when you hit those big sustained notes). I do have to say, that your scream is quite good!

    At ~2:27 it feels all weird, like something is missing. I can kinda see where you’re going with it. Maybe shortening the dead space inbetween each vocal set will help. Check out this song by Cormorant called Junta. The part at 8:40 could be helpful.

    • blood and banjos says:

      you’re totally right. this is just the rhythm guitar, and we certainly need to layer another guitar, and possibly some other instruments there. i’m not a fan of the emptiness as it is!

Leave a Reply

