Worthy of the Final Track?

The final song of the album is going be purely metal influenced.  That much is decided. But unfortunately…that’s about all I know so far.

Although, this weekend I did lay down a work in progress that I think may go well as the beginning of Track 10.  Have a listen.

The beginning riff is reminiscent of southern rock, but then it goes into some definitive metal shredding.  At 0:33 we get some heavy chugging, which is perhaps a bit boring, but we can a ton of fun with that.  Lots of room for creativity from the drums, vocals, other guitars, or even banjo!

At 1:06, we have a classic example of a “black hole” transition.  The melodic part that follows could have some epic vocals, but I’m not sure what I’ll do with it just yet.

The abrupt ending shows that this song is incomplete…
but where do I take it from here?

I will say that there is one thing that has been bothering me about this project so far: the lack of black metal.  It’s time to write some slower progressions with dissonant and foreboding chords…I’ll work hard to deliver on this!

Leave a Reply

