But, Where to Start?

Alright, so this is definitely happening. I’m decided on this. But where do we take this idea? And how do we achieve whatever goals we set? Logistics are going to be a nightmare, as every musician I know who might be interested in collaborating currently lives in a different state. But with determination and time I think it’s completely feasible.

As an example, I present this song I wrote a few weeks ago.  First, I recorded an acoustic guitar track on garage band (top of the line software, I know.)  I then sent the track to my friend Jake to add percussion.  Even with a metronome I barely stayed on the count, but he did his best to match my erratic tempo.  Finally, our friend Patrick put a few finishing touches with electric guitar.  This track is clearly very far from polished, but it demonstrates that I can write a song in California, have drums recorded in Michigan, and have electric guitar added in New York.  (Still needs some vocals though…)


(unavailable?  try refreshing the page)


But let’s discuss the [potentially more difficult] musical aspect of this endeavor. Combining drastically different musical genres can be tricky, but it’s certainly not impossible. Mashups such as gypsy+punk, irish folk+rock, and rap+metal have long ago permeated through mainstream music. Slightly less popular combinations such as latin+hardcore (Puya), jazz+metal, and rap+bluegrass, have also been successful. Hell, even metalgrass (or bluemetal, or blackgrass, etc.) has been done before! I think we can manage this. But this thought also leads me to the question: how is this going effort going to be special?
What will set us apart?

Well, in a business plan, having an edge on the competition is of prime importance. Artistic endeavors though? Not the same… When it comes to art, one simply has to stay true to oneself and one’s interests. Focusing on what makes one popular or more marketable is, of course, what we call selling out.  No way.  We are going to do this solely because it sounds fun. Also we plan on eventually spinning this into a broadway musical.

Anyhow, combining bluegrass and black metal will certainly be a challenge, but by itself is perhaps not enough of an achievement.  We will put more thought into this…  Stay tuned.

continue to next post

8 thoughts on “But, Where to Start?

  1. amber says:

    Love, love, love this, brothers. How blessed I am to even know you all.
    Please keep moving forward with this, it’s too good not to.
    Love you, boys!

  2. Bleeduh says:

    rad idea, get going with it. also, I listened to the jam while viewing this image – http://www.thehighdefinite.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/memento-mapped-portrait-name.jpg .. and got scared. Not sure what to say about that.

    • blood and banjos says:

      just turn on a few lights and you’ll be ok, i think.
      and yes, i’ll get going with this! keep me honest though.

  3. I am listening to this and picturing the black metal vocals over it and I think it would work really well. I think maybe some evil, whispery vocals ala Agalloch would fit in great.
    I like the tremolo in the back around the 3:40 mark and think it would sound cool if it was just a tad louder to emphasis the black.
    All in all, cool demo, you’re on the right track. Keep up the great work! Peace Love and Metal!

    • Thanks for the feedback! I should’ve clarified, however, that this was written before the start of B&B, and isn’t necessarily representative what I think blackgrass might be. I can definitely appreciate your vision though. Would love to hear your thoughts on future recordings!

  4. […] Our new friend atleastimhousebroken mentioned on this blog that he liked the tremolo guitar in our experimental track. Just for him, I brought that back in ukulele form at minute 1:21!  Finally, I added some more uke […]

  5. […] continue to next post Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was tagged black metal, blackgrass, bluegrass, music.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

